Stop the Pressure Clinical Workstream

The National Stop the Pressure Programme (NSTPP) (http://nhs.stopthepressure.co.uk/ ) has been running since 2012 (initially as a regional programme, but since November 2016 as an NHS Improvement national programme) to drive demonstrable improvement in the prevention of pressure ulcers.   Since April  2019, the National Stop the Pressure Programme (NSTPP) has been more fully incorporated within the NWCSP (with the exception of the existing NSTPP quality improvement work programmes which remain the responsibility of the NSTPP and reports through a different governance route in NHS Improvement/ NHS England ).  The NWCSP Pressure Ulcer clinical workstream has been renamed the Stop the Pressure clinical workstream.


The role of the Stop the Pressure clinical workstream is to:

  • Scope the evidence base to identify current relevant evidence
  • Draft evidence-informed recommendations to reduce unwarranted variation, improve safety and optimise patient experience and outcomes
  • Identify evidence gaps where further research is needed
  • Identify areas of unmet need to inform innovation.

To achieve this, the Stop the Pressure clinical workstream is bringing together the work of the National Stop the Pressure Programme and the React to Red campaign (http://www.reacttoredskin.co.uk/.

If you would like to be involved in the consultations on the work of this workstream, please sign up to a Stakeholder Forum here. Stakeholder Forums.

The Committee membership is as below:

Jennie Hall – Chair
Tina Chambers -Independent Consultant
Phyllis Cole – NHS England
Leigh Fleming – Sheffield Hallam University
Jacqui Fletcher – Independent Consultant
Ruth Holt – NHS England
Steven Jeffrey – University of Birmingham
Lisa Ledger – University of Derby
Suzanne Noon – NHS England
Gerard Stansby – Newcastle University Hospitals NHS FT
Jo-Anne Webb – University of Salford
Suzanne Coleman -University of Leeds
Jane Nixon – University of Leeds


< Back to National Wound Care Strategy Programme main page