The purpose of the Board is to oversee the activity of the National Wound Care Strategy Programme (NWCSP) and ensure that the agreed vision and objectives are achieved.

The NWCSP Board objectives are to:

  • Provide the overarching governance and decision-making framework for the National Wound Care Strategy Programme
  • Agree the overall programme goals, objectives and priorities for 2018/19
  • Agree the overall programme goals, objectives and priorities for 2019 onwards
  • Monitor and manage programme progress and impact
  • Provide a robust challenge and scrutiny function for the NWCSP clinical and enabler workstreams and the Stakeholder Council
  • Manage high-level interdependencies and risks associated with the NWCSP
  • Strategically identify, prioritise and allocate resources to different aspects of the NWCSP, re-aligning where necessary
  • Identify and develop funding and resource plans designed to assist in the delivery of the programme
  • Oversee an over-arching effective communications and engagement strategy, sharing key messages with stakeholders as required
  • Ensure that clinical and enabler workstream and Stakeholder Council leads are adequately supported in their work and held to account for the delivery of their responsibilities.


Board membership:

Baroness Mary Watkins – Member of the House of Lords (Chair)
Margaret Kitching – Senior Responsible Officer (Vice Chair)
Una Adderley Director – NWCSP (Executive Director)
Leanne Atkin Co -Chair – Lower Limb Workstream
Christine Beasley Chair – Workforce and Education Workstream
Mike Burrows AHSN Network – Network Coordination Director
Nicky Cullum Chair – Research Workstream
Jacky Edwards Chair – Surgical Wounds Workstream
Liz Fenton Deputy Chief Nurse – Health Education England
Jo Gander Director of Clinical and Product Assurance – NHS Supply Chain
Julian Guest Health Economist – Catalyst Consultants & King’s College London
Jennie Hall Chair – Pressure Ulcer Workstream
Ann Jacklin Chair – Data and Information Workstream (NHSI Carter Programme)
Brenda King Co -Chair – Lower Limb Workstream
Stuart Lakin Chair – Supply & Distribution Workstream
Ruth May Chief Nursing Officer – NHS England and NHS Improvement
Alison Beal GIRFT – Director of Special Projects

Latest NWCSP Board summary April 2019


< Back to National Wound Care Strategy Programme main page