The finalists for the Innovate Awards 2023 have been announced following a rigorous round of judging over the last few weeks.

The Innovate Awards, now in its second year, is delivered in partnership between the AHSN Network and NHS Confederation to celebrate best practise examples of collaboration in the adoption and spread of innovation across health and care.

A grand total of 191 entries from health and care teams across the country, covering 11 award categories, has been shortlisted to 56 finalists.

Commenting on the award entries, Chief Executive from NHS Confederation, Matthew Taylor said: “The work and collaboration to spread innovation across health and care is truly remarkable, as evidenced in this year’s Innovate Awards submissions. Our judges have commented on just how impressive, exciting and inspiring the work contained within the entries has been, and we are delighted to be able to highlight and celebrate these efforts.”

Richard Stubbs, Vice Chair at the AHSN Network said: “Recognising and rewarding our innovators is crucial to creating a culture of innovation.  That’s why we created the Innovate Awards last year and I’m delighted that we’ve attracted such a high calibre of entries for our second year.  I’m hugely looking forward to the awards ceremony when we’ll announce the winners. The work doesn’t stop there though, we then need to make sure that we spread all this best practice throughout the NHS so that it benefits as many patients as possible.”

The 34 judges included prominent healthcare figures from NHS England, regional NHS Trusts and Integrated Care Boards, patient involvement organisations, health equality organisations and innovation specialists. Read more about the judges here.

The award ceremony will take place on the evening of Thursday 21 September 2023 at the Grand Connaught Rooms, in London, WC2B. Tickets are available to book here.

Following the high standard and volume of entries received in 2022, a new ‘Best Use of Data in Health Innovation’ category has been added this year, meaning there are 11 award categories in total.

A 12th ‘winner of winners’ award – Innovation Champion of the Year – will be selected by the judges from across the other category winners. Read about 2022’s ‘winner of winners’, ChatHealth’s experience of entering and winning the awards.

Award categories 2023: 

  • New for 2023: Best Use of Data in Health Innovation
  • Net Zero Innovation of the Year
  • The Diversity in Innovation Award
  • Excellence in Patient and Public Involvement in Transformation and Innovation
  • Innovation Spread Award
  • Best Workforce Innovation
  • Innovation Helping Address Health Inequalities
  • Outstanding Contribution to Population Health Through Innovation
  • Innovative Health System of the Year
  • Outstanding Collaboration with Industry
  • Enabling Safer Systems of Care Through Innovation.

You can find all the finalists by category here.

Sponsorship opportunities are available. If you are interested in sponsoring a category, find out more here.

For more information about the Innovate Awards contact the organising panel at or visit the Innovate Awards website. 

  • How AHSNs are helping tackle the NHS workforce challenges through innovation

    Earlier this month, NHS England launched its new workforce plan, which aims to build a sustainable and resilient healthcare workforce that meets the evolving needs of patients and delivers high-quality care. The plan recognises the importance of recruitment, retention, education, wellbeing, diversity, technology adoption, collaboration, and long-term planning in shaping a successful NHS workforce for [...]

  • Meet the Innovator: Anna-Lisa Mills, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust

    This month’s Meet the Innovator interview is with Anna-Lisa Mills, Sustainability Manager at the Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust which, in 2020, introduced a smart carbon platform and five-step process to reduce its carbon footprint and that of its suppliers. The innovation won the Net Zero Innovation of the Year category at last year’s [...]

  • Meet the Innovator: ELAROS

    In this month’s Meet the Innovator interview we speak with Román Rocha Lawrence, Director of Research and Development at ELAROS, and part-time Research Fellow at the University of Leeds, which collaboratively launched a digital platform to support specialist long COVID services through a patient-facing app and clinical web portal. The innovation won the Outstanding Collaboration [...]